Amazon Quiz TodayFlipkart Quiz Today

Capitals of Indian States & Union Territories

How many States & Union Territories in India?

As of September 2020, there are total 28 states in India and 8 Union Territories.

What is Capital?

A capital is typically a city that physically encompasses the government's offices and meeting places where the government officials physically gathers to discuss things, make decisions, and make law.

How do they choose Capital Cities?

Capital Cities are primarily chosen by the following criteria.

  • It should be in the convenient location to the majority of that state's population.
  • It should easily connect to the other states for trade, communication, and transportation.

States and Capitals

Note: This table is designed for Government Entrance Exam Aspirants. We do separate entries for Summer and Winter capitals for the same state to memorize it in a better way.

S.No State Capital
1 Andhra Pradesh
  • Hyderabad
  • Amaravati
  • Visakhapatnam
  • Kurnool
2 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
3 Assam Dispur
4 Bihar Patna
5 Chhattisgarh
  • Raipur
  • Bilaspur
6 Goa Panaji
7 Gujarat Gandhinagar
8 Haryana Chandigarh
9 Himachal Pradesh (Summer) Simla
10 Himachal Pradesh (Winter) Dharamshala
11 Jharkhand Ranchi
12 Karnataka
  • Bangalore
  • Bengaluru
13 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
14 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
15 Maharashtra Mumbai
16 Manipur Imphal
17 Meghalaya Shillong
18 Mizoram Aizawl
19 Nagaland Kohima
20 Odisha Bhubaneswar
21 Punjab Chandigarh
22 Rajasthan Jaipur
23 Sikkim Gangtok
24 Tamil Nadu Chennai
25 Telangana Hyderabad
26 Tripura Agartala
27 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
28 Uttarakhand (Summer) Gairsain
29 Uttarakhand (Winter) Dehradun
30 West Bengal Kolkata

What is Union Territory?

A union territory is a type of administrative division in the Republic of India. Unlike the states of India, which have their own governments, union territories are federal territories governed, in part or in whole, by the Central Government of India.

Union Territories and Capitals

S.No Union Territory Capital
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Daman
4 Jammu & Kashmir (Summer) Srinagar
5 Jammu & Kashmir (Winter) Jammu
6 Ladakh (Summer) Leh
7 Ladakh (Winter) Kargil
8 Lakshadweep Kavaratti
9 Puducherry Pondicherry

Ready to Take Test?

Customize your Questions and Click on the Take Test Button to start the test.

Take Test

Subscribe Us:

Never Miss an Opportunity. Subscribe to our Channel to Get Instant Notification

Click to Join
For Amazon and Flipkart Quiz AnswersFor GK and Job Alerts
Back To Top

Get to Know Us

Terms of service

© 2020 - community, or its affiliates
All Images, Brands, Product Names, and trademarks are the property of their respective owners.